Polk County Florida Dems Blog

Presidential Teachers Award

Mon, Jun 7, 2010 - 05:52 PM

Posted by Eric Saporito

WASHINGTON, DC -- President Obama today named 103 mathematics and science teachers as recipients of the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.  The educators will receive their awards in Washington, D.C. later this year. The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching is awarded annually to the best pre-college-level science and mathematics teachers from across the country. The winners are selected by a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators following an initial selection process done at the state level.  Each year the award alternates between mathematics and science teachers teaching Kindergarten through 6th grade, and those teaching 7th through 12th grades.  This year it goes to teachers teaching 7th through 12th grades. Winners of this Presidential honor receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation to be used at their discretion. They also receive an expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C. for an awards ceremony and several days of educational and celebratory events, including visits with members of Congress and science agency leaders. Last spring at the National Academy of Sciences, President Obama called on all Americans to join the effort to elevate science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) education as a national priority. The President’s public-private “Educate to Innovate” initiative, which was launched last fall, has attracted more than $500 million in donations and in-kind support from corporations, philanthropies, service organizations, and others to help inspire students to pursue studies and careers in math and science.  Last month, Cabinet officials and others in the Federal government answered the President’s call to action by volunteering in local classrooms as part of National Lab Day, a nationwide initiative to build local communities of support for teachers and students studying mathematics and science.  “Science and technology have long been at the core of America’s strength and competitiveness, and the scientists and engineers who have led America on its remarkable path to success share something very precious: science and math teachers who brought these critical subjects to life,” said President Obama. “Today we honor some of the best of these teachers and thank them for their dedication. They are inspirations not just to their students, but to the Nation and the world.”   The individuals receiving the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching this year are: Alabama       Megan O'Neill, Fairhope (Science) Alaska       Robert Williams, Palmer (Math)       Jane Sandstrom, Fairbanks (Science) Arizona       Sandra Trevino, Sierra Vista (Math)       Colette Bos, Mesa (Science) Arkansas       Lorraine Darwin, Cabot (Math)       Karen Ladd, Jonesboro (Science) California       Sean Nank, Oceanside (Math)       Mark Fairbank, Paso Robles (Science) Colorado       Carrie Heaney, Aurora (Math)       Aaron Sams, Woodland Park (Science) Connecticut       Edward DePeau III, Newington (Math)       Kristen Record, Stratford (Science) Delaware       Carrie Barber, Wilmington (Math)       Kelly Green, Middletown (Science) Department of Defense Education Activity       Timothy Kelly, Baumholder, Germany (Math)       Ray Smola, Heidelberg, Germany (Science) District of Columbia       Yvette Yamagata, Washington (Math) Florida       Michelle Voelker, Defuniak Springs (Math)       Allan Phipps, Plantation (Science) Georgia       Christopher Harrow, Atlanta (Math)       Rachael Parr, Commerce (Science) Hawaii       Yannabah Lewis, Kailua-Kona (Math)       John Constantinou, Kea'au (Science) Idaho       Kim Zeydel, Meridian (Math)       Marian DeWane, Boise (Science) Illinois       Paul Karafiol, Chicago (Math)       Jason Crean, La Grange (Science) Indiana       Janice Mitchener, Carmel (Math)       Deanna York, Indianapolis (Science) Iowa       Matthew Miller, Cedar Rapids (Math)       Jessica Gogerty, Des Moines (Science) Kansas       Cynthia Couchman, Buhler (Math)       Bruce Wellman, Lawrence (Science) Kentucky       Jennifer Crase, Crestwood (Math)       Melissa Evans, Corbin (Science) Louisiana       Pamela Goodner, Baton Rouge (Math)       Lisa Hartman, New Orleans (Science) Maine       Shawn Towle, Falmouth (Math)       Maria Palopoli, Brunswick (Science) Maryland       Kimberly Burton-Regulski, Essex (Math)       Radhika Plakkot, Huntingtown (Science) Massachusetts       Sharon Hessney, Roxbury (Math)       Mark Greenman, Marblehead (Science) Michigan       Renee Yake, Iron Mountain (Math)       Nathaniel Childers, Rochester Hills (Science) Minnesota       Karen Hyers, Oakdale (Math)       Stephen Kaback, Minneapolis (Science) Mississippi       Virginia Welch, Hattiesburg (Math)       Linda Parrott, Ocean Springs (Science) Missouri       Steven Willott, Saint Charles (Math)       Marsha Tyson, Columbia (Science) Montana       LeAnne Yenny, Bozeman (Math)       Darlene Ruble, Eureka (Science) Nebraska       Linda Coates, Omaha (Math)       Brenda Zabel, Omaha (Science) Nevada       Michael Patterson, Las Vegas (Math)       Cynthia Kern, Henderson (Science) New Hampshire       Stacey Plummer, Hollis     (Math)       Angela Gospodarek, Raymond (Science) New Jersey       Mark Geiger, Lanoka Harbor (Math)       W. Donald Clark, Long Branch (Science) New Mexico       Dana Dawson, Edgewood (Math)       Vincent Case, Albuquerque (Science) New York       Camsie Matis, New York (Math)       Jeanne Kaidy, Rochester (Science) North Carolina       Maria Hernandez, Durham (Math)       Judith Jones, Chapel Hill (Science) North Dakota       Fredrick Strand, Hatton (Math)       Ryan Bleth, Bismarck (Science) Ohio       Rebecca Link, Fort Recovery (Math)       Sandee Coats-Haan, Liberty Township (Science) Oklahoma       Beth Harper, Oklahoma City (Math)       Kristy VanDorn, Edmond (Science) Oregon       Marna Knoer, Eugene (Math)       Lori Lancaster, Portland (Science) Pennsylvania       Becky Piscitella, Johnstown (Math) Puerto Rico       Sylvette Velez, San Juan (Math)       Alexandra Rodríguez, San Juan (Science) Rhode Island       Jeffrey Schoonover, Portsmouth (Science) South Carolina       Michelle Spigner, Columbia (Science) South Dakota       Lori Keleher, Miller (Math)       Angela Hejl, Yankton (Science) Tennessee       Jeff McCalla, Arlington (Math)       Peggy Bertrand, Oak Ridge (Science) Texas       Mallory Zimmerman, Uvalde (Math)       Lucielle Paramoure, New Braunfels (Science) US Territories       Weslyn Harry, St. Thomas (Math)       Mary Jane Coles, Frederiksted (Science) Utah       Janet Sutorius, Nephi (Math)       Amy Pace, Saint George (Science) Vermont       John Willard, Colchester (Math)       William Warren, Colchester (Science) Virginia       Kimberly Morrow-Leong, Bristow (Math)       Dat Le, Arlington (Science) Washington       Nicola Wethall, Oak Harbor (Math)       Kareen Borders, Lakebay (Science) West Virginia       Cynthia Burke, Wheeling (Math)       Rebecca Jones, Lumberport (Science) Wisconsin       Weston Glasbrenner, Fennimore (Math)       Melissa Hemling, Pulaski (Science) Wyoming       Susan Carlson, Casper (Math)       Mark Haskins, Lander (Science)

Related Article

  • Share It!