Florida LGBTA Democrats Announce Endorsements

Sat, Aug 25, 2018

Florida Primary Races

August 24, 2018
Early Voting, Vote By Mail, or In Person on Tuesday 

GAINESVILLE - It's time! Florida's primary election is Tuesday, and it's time to make your voice heard. The direction of our state -- and the country -- is at stake!

You can still vote early or send in your vote by mail ballot, or wait until Tuesday and vote on Election Day. 

The Florida LGBTA Democratic Caucus, representing the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community to the Florida Democratic Party, earlier released a full list of endorsements for the August 28th primary election. 
For the state's most watched election -- for governor -- no candidate received the required two-thirds vote of eligible voting members participating to receive the endorsement at our Membership Meeting on July 28. Utilizing a successive voting process whereby the candidate with the least amount of votes was eliminated each round, the final two candidates were Andrew Gillum and Gwen Graham. 
Following is the full list of endorsed candidates this cycle:
Governor: No Endorsement (see above)
Attorney General: Sean Shaw
CFO: State Senator Jeremy Ring
Commissioner of Agriculture: No Endorsement
US Senator Bill Nelson
CD-3: Yvonne Hayes Hinson
CD-5: Rep. Al Lawson
CD-6: Nancy Soderberg
CD-7: Rep. Stephanie Murphy
CD-8: Sanjay Patel
CD-9: Rep. Darren Soto
CD-10: Rep. Val Demmings
CD-13: Rep. Charlie Crist
CD-15: Andrew Learned
CD-16: David Shapiro
CD-17: April Freeman
CD-18: Lauren Baer
CD-19: David Holden
CD-20: Rep. Alcee Hastings
CD-22: Rep. Ted Deutch
CD-23: Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz
CD-27: State Representative David Richardson
House District 28: Lee Mangold
House District 37: Tammy Garcia
House District 49: Representative Carlos Guillermo Smith
House District 55: Audrey Asciutto
House District 89: James Bonfiglio
House District 115: Dr Jeffrey Solomon
House District 106: Sara McFadden
The state Caucus endorsed candidates recommended by local chapters. These include:
Stonewall Democrats of Alachua County
Senate District 8: Kayser Enneking
House District 21: Amol Jethwani 
School Board: Rob Hyatt
School Board: Tina Cetin
Dolphin Democrats (Broward County)
Senate District 34: Gary Farmer
House District 92: Paulette Armstead
House District 93: Emma Collum
House District 96: Saima Farooqui
House District 97: Jared Moscowitz
House District 98: Andrew Dolberg
House District 105: Javier Estevez
Hillsborough County LGBTA Democratic Caucus
House District 59: Adam Hattersley
House District 60: Debra Bellanti
House District 63: Fentrice Driskell
Commissioner District 4: Andrew Davis 
Lee County LGBTQA Democratic Caucus
House District 76: David Bogner
House District 78: Parisima Taeb
School District Seat 4: Debbie Jordan
Fort Myers City Council Seat 4: Christopher Pierce
Pasco LGBTA Democratic Caucus
County Commission District 2: Kelly Smith
County Commission District 4: Brandi Geoit
Stonewall Democrats of Pinellas County
Senate District 16: Amanda Murphy
House District 66: Alex Heeren
House District 69: Jennifer Webb
County Commission District 6: Amy Kedron 
School Board District 6: Matt Stewart
Rainbow Ridge LGBTA Democratic Caucus of Polk County
Senate District 22: Bob Doyel
Senate District 26: Catherine Price
House District 42: Barbara Cady
County Commission District 4: Karen Cooper Welzel
School Board District 3: Sarah Fortney
# # #
Follow us!
Twitter @fllgbtadems
Facebook @fllgbtadems

Read Full Article

Tags: Primary, LGBTA, endorsements, Rainbow Ridge

  • Share It!
« previous 10 - next 10 » (1 total)